Questions from those who are new to cruising

Topic author
bellybee
Cadet
Cadet

Paying on board charges

Post by bellybee »

Hello

I am a newb going on my first cruise in June on Arcadia. Do you know if the charges like tips and drinks etc can be paid using a credit card or is it debit card only? I am very excited for my cruise and have 2 of my posh dresses already (ebay jobbie lol)

Kendhni
Ex Team Member

Re: Paying on board charges

Post by Kendhni »

Hi bellybee and welcome to the forum and wonderful world of cruising.
Yes you can pay by credit card (or debit card or even by cash). Tips will be added to your on board account on a daily basis (at a rate of £3.10 per person per day - this is going up to £3.50pppd at the end of March). Note that while on board it is a cashless system .. you charge everything to your cruise card and then settle the bill at the end.

Arcadia is a great ship and I can recommend the Orchid restaurant .. costs extra but great for a special meal.

Quizzical Bob
Senior First Officer
Senior First Officer

Post by Quizzical Bob »

Hi Bellybee,

When you check in at Southampton (or elsewhere) you will be asked for a card which will be registered against your onboard account. This can be a credit card. If you are sharing a cabin and you register the same card for both accounts then any On Board Credit (OBC) will be shared between the two cabin accounts. If you register a different card against each of the cabin occupants then the OBC is treated individually and cannot be merged. At the end of the cruise you will receive a statement showing what you have spent on board. This will then be taken off the registered card unless you choose to settle it in cash or other kind. You can ask for an interim statement at any time by going to the Reception Desk. Have fun, and be warned-cruising is addictive!

david63
Site Admin
Site Admin

Post by david63 »